EYE Teacher & Mentor
Information Center

Utah Effective Teaching Standards

The Learner and Learning

Teaching begins with the learner. To ensure that each student learns new knowledge and skills, teachers must understand that learning and developmental patterns vary among individuals, that learners bring unique individual differences to the learning process, and that learners need supportive and safe learning environments to thrive.

Standard 1: Learner Development

The teacher understands cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional and physical areas of student development.

The teacher:

Standard 2: Learning Differences

The teacher understands individual learner differences and cultural and linguistic diversity.

The teacher:

Standard 3: Learning Environments

The teacher works with learners to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, encouraging positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.

The teacher:

Instructional Practice

Effective instructional practice requires that teachers have a deep and flexible understanding of their content areas and are able to draw upon content knowledge as they work with learners to access information, apply knowledge in real world settings, and address meaningful issues. They must also understand and integrate assessment, planning, and instructional strategies in coordinated and engaging ways to assure learner mastery of the content.

Standard 4: Content Knowledge

The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline.

The teacher:

Standard 5: Assessment

The teacher uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, monitor learner progress, guide planning and instruction, and determine whether the outcomes described in content standards have been met.

The teacher:

Standard 6: Instructional Planning

The teacher plans instruction to support students in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, core curriculum standards, instructional best practices, and the community context.

The teacher:

Standard 7: Instructional Strategies

The teacher uses various instructional strategies to ensure that all learners develop a deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and build skills to apply and extend knowledge in meaningful ways.

The teacher:

Professional Responsibility

Creating and supporting safe, productive learning environments that result in learners achieving at the highest levels is a teacher’s primary responsibility. To do this well, teachers must engage in meaningful, intensive professional learning by regularly examining practice through ongoing study, self-reflection, and collaboration. They must be aware of legal and ethical requirements and engage in the highest levels of professional and ethical conduct.

Standard 8: Reflection and Continuous Growth

The teacher is a reflective practitioner who uses evidence to continually evaluate and adapt practice to meet the needs of each learner.

The teacher:

Standard 9: Leadership and Collaboration

The teacher is a leader who engages collaboratively with learners, families, colleagues, and community members to build a shared vision and supportive professional culture focused on student growth and success.

The teacher:

Standard 10: Professional and Ethical Behavior

The teacher demonstrates the highest standard of legal, moral, and ethical conduct as specified in Utah State Board Rule R277-515.

The teacher: